Somerset is divided into four areas (Districts)

  • Mendip
  • South Somerset
  • Somerset West & Taunton
  • Sedgemoor

Each District can have area meetings. Member Councils can send two Councillors (one of whom can be the Clerk) to such meetings. The area meetings appoints its own Chairman (who then sits as a member of the SALC County Committee as well).

Area meetings set their own meeting dates and create their own agenda, which is then written and disseminated to Member Councils by the SALC office.

The items tabled can address all matters affecting local Councils and points of local interest in their area, including submitting recommendations to the SALC County Committee, District Council and/or County Council.

The Meeting can resolve to take any action deemed appropriate to support the Member Councils in the area, as long as those actions are compatible with the constitution and objectives of the Somerset Association and the objectives of the National Association of Local Councils.

There is no regular timetable for area meetings, they are called at the request of Member Councils.